James, a Giant Peach, and Me

You know how you can be listening to the radio and a song comes on and suddenly you are thrust back in time to a specific moment? Or a smell that brings you back to your childhood? Because I grew up as a bookworm (and still am), I get that way with books.

There are so many books that have influenced my life at different times. That “influence” changes each time I re-read a book; sometimes it becomes more profound, sometimes less. But I always think back to the first time reading that book.

As a 14 year-old romantic, reading “The Thorn Birds” by Colleen McCullough was….eye-opening. I thought it was the most romantic, meaningful, greatest love story ever. When I went back and tried reading it again, as an older, wiser (perhaps more jaded?) woman, I was not nearly as impressed. But for my teenage years it was the love story of all love stories.

When I read “The Great Gatsby,” by F. Scott Fitzgerald the opposite was true. It had no significant meaning for me until I read it again as an adult. As I was re-reading it in college and then again in my late-twenties, I found myself reflecting back to that high school class and some of the discussions I remember the teacher trying to have with us. How I wished I could go back and talk to him about it now!

In college I read “The Awakening” by Kate Chopin. It was the moment I knew an English major was for me and that teaching was in my future. It still stands as one of my favorite books.

I first read “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupery in high school, in French. When I read it later, in English, I picked up a lot of the little things I missed while reading it in French, but truly appreciated the story in its original language a lot more. French is a beautiful language and it fits perfectly with this lovely little book.

I was in my mid-20s when a co-worker loaned me “Ethan Frome” by Edith Wharton. It was in February, which was the perfect time to read this novella as it matched with the dreary landscape and mood of the book. Every winter, post-holidays, I find myself wanting to pick it up and read it again.

The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho was introduced to me my freshman year in college, by a guy I liked. The book left a much more lasting impression than he ever did. I do think of him and that year in school each time I read this book. But mainly just as a “thank god I got something out of that relationship.”

But, the book that influenced me the most, at a very young age, was “James and the Giant Peach” by Roald Dahl. I know where I was when I read it (my grandma’s house), the season (winter), and the smell of the house (stew cooking, windows fogged because of the steam in the kitchen). But most of all, it was the first book that completely took me out of my world of sadness (my father had passed away the year prior) and into a fantasy world where anything was possible.

The excitement it created in me is something I’ll never forget. A true desire to read everything I could get my hands on and a need to WRITE. It taught me that anything I could dream up I could write a story about. I mean, “James and the Giant Peach” is all about a little boy and a group of human-sized insects going on an adventure in a giant peach. If that’s not enough to inspire the imagination, I don’t know what is.

James and the Giant Peach

I read “James and the Giant Peach” again, recently, and a whole new excitement was born. I cannot wait to read this book…and so many others…to my children. And I cannot wait to see what that inspires in them.

What books have made a lasting impression on you?

Happy reading!

Follow on Bloglovin

About StylistSaraMN

I like all things pretty--fashion, words, images, ideas.
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to James, a Giant Peach, and Me

  1. This is a great post, and I can totally relate! My favorite book — well, books, really — will always be Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass. I remember reading Alice for the first time on the ride home from the library, making myself carsick because I just couldn’t bring myself to close it, and feeling surprised that we were home already because the ride didn’t usually pass that quickly (the sign that a book has successfully drawn me in).

    Also, I know what you mean about recalling classroom discussions. I’ve revisited quite a few assigned books over the years, and I always want to get in touch with my professors and tell them how much I now agree (or disagree) with them. (But then they’d be all, “Who is this?”)

    Glad to have stumbled upon your post. 🙂

    • I love it! I have fond memories of reading in the car on the way home from the library (or, for a real treat, the book store) and my mom saying “Stop reading…you’ll be done before we even get home!” Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Kellie says:

    I loved this post! I always am interested in finding out what books have impacted others! You have almost convinced me to read “The Great Gatsby” again as I also read it in high school and I did not like it at all!

    I agree with you totally on “The Alchemist” though, it’s a great story!

    Other books that I’ve really enjoyed have been “The Giver” by Lois Lowry. I read it for the first time in the sixth grade and MANY times since.

    “Night” by Elie Wiesel was an amazing book and oddly enough another book that made an impact on me is called “Blood on the Risers” by John Leppelman. The last book was one that I was assigned to read in a high school history class and was totally uninterested in and it ended up being one of my favorite books that just so happened to be a true account of a soldier’s experience in the Vietnam War.

    • Thanks, Kellie, for the recommendations…I’m going to have to look into those! And as far as “The Giver” is concerned…that was on my list of books to include in the post, but I chose “The Alchemist” instead. I read “The Giver” at a pretty young age & have re-read it several times since. Such a great story. 🙂

  3. Marie says:

    Just subscribed to your blog after reading this post. Love it! The first four books on your list affected me similarly in my younger and more impressionable years ;). I was thinking about “The Thorn Birds” recently, wondering how it would strike me now…what are your thoughts on “Story of an Hour,” and “The Yellow Wallpaper”? Since you enjoyed “The Awakening,” and you majored in English, I imagine you have read these short stories? If not, I highly recommend seeking them out! I look forward to reading all of your posts I’ve missed up until now. Thanks!

    • I love those short stories! I’m kind of short story obsessed–in fact on my reading list is BJ Novak’s collection of short stories. I totally think you should read “The Thorn Birds” again (or try to) because I’d love to hear your thoughts. 🙂 Crazy how our reactions to things changes significantly over time. Thanks for stopping by and subscribing! Just so you know, I’m no longer updating this blog, I’ve moved over to http://www.writingwithbangles.com. I’d love you to join me over there!

Leave a Reply

